MA Fine Art – Tutorial at the Bluecoat and Presentation to BA Fine Art students.

Another productive tutorial with Imogen. We looked at my blog, (so much easier at times than showing work in a journal), and a useful vehicle for developing ideas, thoughts and practice. The blog is being used as one would use a sketchbook. At present I’m considering taking my work down alleyways and into the spaces that are deemed to be unsettling. I feel that this will add further tension to my work. It may be that I video the alleyway and consider how the camera becomes the viewer, stumbling across these creations against a backdrop of societies traces.

Structural forms such as crumbling walls and rotting surfaces record the passing of time in their textures. This is turn creates darkness that create uncanny situations. (Botting,F)

It may be that photographing the works against the different surfaces or appearing from behind structures  has an impact as the photograph becomes the reality.Imogen suggested that I seem to have a potent sense of space which I have taken from childhood. She suggested I look at the work of Willie Doherty and read W G Sebalds work entitled Austerlitz. We discussed visiting building yards to find supports and rusted structures. These can be used to either work onto or use to support my work in some way.

We talked about a presentation I was working on to show to the BA students and I feel that this could be a piece of work in itself .  The presentation is set up to run without intervention and contains images and text. The written word can often have a significant impact on the viewer and I feel that it works well without sound.

Presentation.

dsc_3100

Mikki Gleave – Walk with Me –  A journey into the uncanny.

dsc_3101

Mikki Gleave – Walk with Me – A journey into the uncanny.

 

I received excellent feedback from the presentation and the images worked well projected in large format. This will be shown as a piece of work . The images shown in this scale heighten the experience of the uncanny because the projector , as a medium, enhances the viewer into another dimension of memories, traces and ghosts.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

