MA Fine Art Exhibition Part II process and reflection- 23rd January, 2017

 

Very helpful talk and advice from tutor Chris Evans . He felt the work was strong but the polaroid’s needed to be in a separate space and the work on the floor also needed to be separate. He suggested I take the Polaroid’s off the wall and think about displaying the work in a different way. Chris reminded me that its important to get away from displaying work (at MA standard), that would be suitable for undergraduate level or to sell at a café.  He liked the fact that the support for the work echoed past and memory and suggested I created a landscape of such with my images peeping out of the top. This was a difficult process because I wanted to put more work up. I was reminded to have conviction about what I’m trying to get across. And then, I saw it.. the images I create become part of a landscape , saturated with memories. We walk past rusted supports, battered gates and weathered walls everyday ….. and so …. Walk with Me begins ……

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walk with Me, 2017 Mikki Gleave

I am inspired and although I am aware this is still very much a work in progress, I have ideas. I want to create a landscape of weathered supports (perhaps faintly marked in  graffiti, thus adding another mark of memory) and present my distorted images almost peeping out of the top- an alleyway of images .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

